Peaceful Poison

A man went to see a wise man that he really looked up to. He told the wise man, “I am tired of living. My marriage is in a mess. Everything goes wrong. I just want to die.”

The wise man smiled, “You must be ill, and I am sure your illness can be healed.”

“O wise man, no. I don’t want to live anymore, I just want to end my life,” the man denied.

“Alright then, if that’s what you want. Take this bottle of poison. Drink half of it by tonight, and drink the rest tomorrow at 6 pm. By 8 pm you will die peacefully.”

Hearing the wise man’s suggestion, he became confused. He thought that the wise man would try to lift his spirit up instead of offering him a bottle of poison. But still, he took it.

Upon arriving at home, he drank half of the bottle’s content. He then decided to have dinner with his family at a lavish restaurant and ordered his most favourite food that he had not eaten for a long time. To leave good memories, he joked with his family. Before sleeping he kissed his wife and told her, “Dear, I love you.”

Morning came; he woke up and opened the bedroom’s window, savouring the view outside. He felt refreshed by the morning breeze and compelled to take a morning walk.

When he returned after the walk, his wife was still asleep. He went to the kitchen and made 2 cups of coffee for him and his wife. All these made his wife puzzled. She asked him, “Honey, what happened? Did I do anything wrong? Please forgive me.”

He then went to the office and greeted everyone. He was more tolerant and appreciative towards others. His staffs were also confused, “Our boss is acting weird today,” they talked among themselves.
He reached home around 5 pm. His wife was waiting for him. She kissed him and said, “Honey, I want to tell you again that I’m sorry for everything.” Even his children started to feel closer to him.

Suddenly, he felt that life is beautiful and decided not to commit suicide. But he already drank some of the poison? What should he do?

He rushed to meet the wise man and told him about his situation. The wise man casually told him, “Just throw away the bottle. It only contains water. I am grateful that you have recovered from your illness.”

“When you are aware that you could die anytime, you will appreciate every second of this life. So, get rid of your ego and be grateful. That’s the real secret of happiness and contentment.”

Translated from: http://inmotivasi.blogspot.com.au/2012/12/sebotol-racun-untuk-semangat-hidup.html

Leave a comment